G-Men Award News

Current News

I am happy and thrilled to announce that my story “G-Men,” which appeared in Sideways in Crime, has been nominated for the Sidewise Award for Best Alternate History, Short Form.   Lou Anders edited the anthology and has two other stories on the short form list.  If you like alternate history, this is the antho for you. 

Here’s the press release.  Congrats to all the nominees!

Press Release: 2008 Sidewise Awards Nominees

The 2008 Sidewise Awards will be presented at Anticipation, the 67th Worldcon, to be held in Montreal, Canada from August 6-10, 2009. The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were established in 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate history fiction. The winners are selected from a panel of judges that currently includes Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stuart Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

Short Form:

“A Brief Guide to Other Histories” by Paul J. McAuley, (Postscripts #15)
“G-Men,” by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Sideways in Crime, edited by Lou Anders, Solaris)
“Night Bird Soaring,” by T.L. Morganfield (Greatest Uncommon
Denominator, Autumn/08)
“The People’s Machine,” by Tobias Buckell (Sideways in Crime, edited by Lou Anders, Solaris)
“Poison Victory,” by Albert E. Cowdrey (F&SF, 07/08)
“Sacrifice,” by Mary Rosenblum (Sideways in Crime, edited by Lou Anders, Solaris)

Long Form:

The Affinity Bridge, by George Mann (Snowbooks/Tor, 2009)
The Dragon’s Nine Sons, by Chris Roberson (Solaris)
Half a Crown, by Jo Walton (Tor)
Nation, by Terry Pratchett (HarperCollins/Doubleday UK)
Swiftly, by Adam Roberts (Gollancz)

For more information about the Sidewise Award, visit
http://www.uchronia.net/sidewise, or contact Steven H Silver, the Award Administrator, at shsilver@sfsite.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *